Logos and Brand Identity

Posted: February 10, 2011 in Logo Design

Logos have long been associated with a brand’s identity, the personality and attributes we associate with a particular company, product or person. Many logos have recently been updated to reflect a change in a company’s business direction or to appear more modern. Some companies who have recently changed their logos are GAP, Starbucks, Seattle’s Best, and Kraft Foods. GAP received much criticism and reverted to their old logo. Some critics believe that GAP has branded itself into oblivion by changing and quickly reverting. Do you believe that changing the GAP logo hurt its identity with its target audience?

In theory, logos should be easy to recognize, easy to remember and easy to reproduce on a variety of textures and in various channels of media. Is there more to consider with a logo than these 3 Rs?

Read the article below about JetBlue branding with Milton Glaser’s “I Heart New York” logo and comment on whether you think branding together (partnerships) is a good idea. Could this be confusing to the consumer? Or is this a clever strategy for Jet Blue and New York tourism since the consumer already recognizes the “I Heart New York” logo?

JetBlue Unveils “I Heart Blue York”

Comments
  1. mollydahl says:

    Although the new logo is a creative idea for JetBlue, it seems confusing to look at. My eye couldn’t focus on which part of the logo to look at first. Some times, branding together or partnerships, could be beneficial for the companies, but I think it caused confusion for the consumer in this case. It seems that there are too many words put together with only one picture (the heart). Today, consumers usually focus on pictures or graphics instead of words. Also, I feel that since most consumers recognize the “I Love New York” logo easily, it is hard to differentiate the “JetBlue” part in the new logo. This might be a problem because people may see the traditional red heart and not look any further because they know what the logo is already. It is a clever and creative idea, but a bit confusing.

  2. meghanwernimont says:

    Overall, I think it is a good idea but I think it is too much for logo. Even though the new partnership helps the business, trying to incorporate his famous logo with Jetblue may be a bit confusing. It is hard to concentrate what Jetblue’s part of the logo is and too much on I love NY. Society today is so fast oriented and only takes a few seconds to focus on something and the graphic usually grabs its attention and once they see that they will relate that to the I heart NY. I think it is a very creative idea but I do think Jetblue should establish their own logo that maybe uses some of the features from I Heart NY. Because it may confuse the consumers, but i still do appreciate what they are trying to do.

  3. lcuscani says:

    I don’t believe that Gap hurt it’s identity with their target market by changing the logo and then reverting back the old one. They did it so quickly that I don’t think people really had time to wonder about it. As a Gap customer, I didn’t particularly like the new logo, but it wouldn’t stop me from shopping there.

    Concerning the Jet Blue logo, I don’t really care for it at all. Before reading the article I imagined the logo would just be I ❤ Jet Blue in the font of the I ❤ NY logo, not an intersection between the two logos as they are. I think it may be confusing for the consumer, just because of the reference to NY. It might suggest that Jet Blue is an east coast only airline, which wouldn't be good. Overall, I do think it is confusing and I don't like the design.

  4. jeimers says:

    Many reputable companies have achieved solidarity by remaining constant throughout their history. Others have made their marks by introducing something revolutionary or controversial. This can include a change in their marketing approach. GAP, Starbucks, and now JetBlue have all done this – made noise in the corporate world not by changing their service, product, or mission, but simply their logo. Perhaps people who have never purchased a drink from Starbucks, a scarf from GAP, or a roundtrip airfare from JetBlue, will now consider doing so, just because they heard of these changes in the news.

    I don’t think the clarity of JetBlue’s new logo was the main focus. I doubt they even care if you read “I ❤ NY" before you read "Jet ❤ Blue." The fact that you recognize it's a JetBlue plane is what they care about. Confusing? Perhaps. Clever? Absoloutely.

  5. jennamarie5 says:

    I don’t think that there will be any cause for confusion with JetBlue. Naturally people see the New York sign and think of NY, but there are a lot of places that use that logo on T-shirts etc. Jet Blue is still a huge part of the logo so I don’t think that anyone will be concerned with understand.

  6. In regard to the GAP logo i think consumers are more concerned with the indecisive behavior of the brand. It seems like they didn’t put very much research into the logo before they changed it and then they pulled it so quickly. They really need to pick a road and stick with it and be a little bit more thorough. Hopefully people don’t see it as a reflection on the brand as a whole.
    I am not particularly fond of the new JetBlue logo but it certainly captivates the consumers attention. At the very least they’ll catch you looking, after that i’m not sure that it really matters if you like the logo or not, you still looked. The fact that they get you thinking about it is an accomplishment on their part. Good strategy, but definately not the best logo of all time.

  7. kevinlewis28 says:

    There is nothing wrong with branding partnerships together, but it has to look good and flow nicely. looking at the logo on the plane, I think it could have been executed better. The first logo I noticed was I love New York of course because of the big red heart. Then after establishing that, I noticed, “ok jet blue has their name plugged in vertically”. I believe more effort could have been put in on this project, logo wise. Combining partnerships is not a bad idea, but the way it is showcased should make it come together.

  8. The new jet Blue logo will definitely confuse the consumers. Logo’s, especially airline logos, are recognizable from anywhere because of the amount of money they spend on commercials and advertising. Changing the logo to combine the I love New York is a bad idea. Although its customers will still fly Jet Blue, Jet Blue itself may be forgotten becaues the I love New York logo is even more widley known and liked.

  9. tsabatine says:

    I’ve seen the I love Ny logo played on a thousand times, its nothing new in my eyes, and the fact that the I love Ny logo is so recognizable i believe can only be a good thing for jetblue.

  10. genesamarie says:

    I don’t like the new jetblue logo. There is too much type and it shows no symmetry. The concept does seem like a good idea to merge the two, but the way they did it doesn’t work. The actual logo on the wing looks alot better since it is only on the end, but to put that logo everywhere would be confusing.

  11. seanaserrian says:

    I think it’s a good idea. The ” I heart New York” is already a familiar and popular logo, which would definitely benefit Jet Blue. New York wants to increase its tourism and Jet Blue can get tourists to New York, it makes sense for them to collaborate on this design.

  12. edmcnick says:

    I think the concept or idea of branding the two logos together is interesting and new, but personally I think it is a little confusing. I can understand the message getting across of associating NY and Jet Blue since Jet blue is from NY, but I think it just looks funny. When i see “I heart NY” I don’t think of Jet Blue, and when I think of Jet Blue I don’t think of NY. I just don’t understand the marketing strategy, I could careless if Jet Blue is from NY. When I want to fly a certain airline where the company is from means nothing to me. Plus, I think it doesn’t look that good on the plains. I really liked the old look of a different pattern on the tail of every plane, I thought that was cool.

  13. Jeff Katra says:

    I think the merging of the I ❤ NY logo and Jet Blue is a great idea. The airline company is taking their brand and combining it with a brand/logo that is well known across the United States. This will definitely boost the credibility of Jet Blue, and provide support for NY tourism and the arts at the same time. The logo is kind of busy in how its layed out but it is different. When things are different they stand out and ultimately get noticed by individuals. Even if people do not like the logo they will notice it and recognize the brand merger. I don't think it would hurt the airline in anyway.

  14. andrewmikolaichik says:

    I dont think that GAP changing its logo hurts its target audience, while many people thought the logo didnt fit the company and expressing negative reactions, it brought GAP’s name into the news bringing attention to the company.

    The three Rs are very important when designing a logo but not the only things to be considered. The logo still needs to catch readers attention and stick in their heads lending some sort of unqinueness while still tring be simple and fit the 3 Rs.

    I dont think that the ad would be confusing for consumers, for someone who doesnt know that jet blue is a new york airline, seeing the two logos together could place the airline in a location. Then when someone is looking to fly near new york jet blue might come to mind because of the logo. It might hurt them in the same way however if they can fly places other than new york the logo suggests they can’t.

  15. David Castro says:

    I think that this idea does what it’s meant to do, it graves your attention. I think that this is more symbolic than anything else, llike Jet Blue is NY. I guess it’s a pride thing.

  16. I think it is a good attention grabber. They used a very popular logo (I Love NY) to draw attention, but I think it could have been put together a little better.